The Definition of Insanity


the-definition-of-insanity

Great googily moogily!

When it rains it pours. Like I mentioned in my last blog post, my self-hosted website was trashed by hackers. They trashed it so badly that my website disappeared. Instead of the blue screen of death I had the white screen of death. Nada. Nothing. I couldn’t even get in through the back door. The web hosting company was non-responsive until I hit them up on Twitter.

That’s when I learned how bad the hacking was. The hosting company couldn’t even roll back to the last full back up. It was dirtied up with malware, too. And before you ask, yes, I even paid extra for regular security scans.

So I came back to my big little wordpress dot com space. This is where I started my blog back in 2007. And all I wanted was a little corner of the cyber universe to write.

Then my head got too big.

The online business thing started booming and self-hosted websites were the way to go. At first I self-hosted with the company I buy my domain names from – but my website got hacked in 2010 and I moved everything to an new company and had no problems – none – for almost 7 years.

For 7 years I pretended to have an online business.

What I really had was a blog. And every once in a while I’d teach a class where 3 or 4 or maybe 6 people would sign up and 2 would show up.

A lot of work for very little return. But I’d rinse and repeat, get frustrated, quit, start again.

I became the definition of insanity – doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

<sigh>

The same weekend my website croaked, the USB connector inside my external hard drive broke. I pretty much have the life of my website – all my content and graphics – stored on it, as well as thousands of photographs.

Oh. My. God. I get it. I really get it.

Dear Universe –

I’ve heard and received the message loud and clear – I’m not supposed to have an “online” business. And no, you did not have to make the final point. You did not need to break the USB connector in my external hard drive. But I get it. Really, I do. And thankfully, the external hard drive is an easy fix and none of the content on there is lost (a-hem, all my pictures from Ireland and Scotland, thank you!)

I get it. Really, I do.

It’s time to be creative. And offline. Not having my online business to distract me, I tapped into a demand for crocheted messy bun hats. A friend posted a link to a pattern on my Facebook wall. I didn’t really like the pattern, so I found a free one on Ravelry and used it for size and then created my own patterns with my favorite stitches. I posted a picture of the first one I made and the orders came rushing in.

Over 30 messy bun hat orders. And “Oh, can you make a scarf to match it?” Sure! If I had known the demand was going to be this crazy, I would have been making hats 3 months ago 🙂

crochet_hats_scarves

It’s take me forever to hear this message, to receive this message, and to allow myself to release and let go this notion of teaching online classes. My creativity and the pretty things I make are speaking loud and clear. And you can browse my Esty shop at your convenience.

xoxo

Peggy

PS: Yes, I’ll still be writing over here, too!

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “The Definition of Insanity

  1. Pingback: My Word For 2017 – UNCOMPLICATED | Pathways To Possibility

  2. Such a great post, Peggy! This trend happened over and over again for me as well – until one day I just said – Fine!! In the way all women do once they’ve reached the point of no return on how done they are with something. After that, I simply spent the entirety of last summer golfing with my husband. That’s when the golf club hit me over the head and Tee Time With The Thompsons was born. The momentum of this new project has a life of its own, my writing has taken a whole different personality and form, and our golf business is flourishing – in the middle of winter – in New England. Go Figure! I’m so excited for you and your new business venture. I love the hat you made me for Christmas and I love browsing your store. Stay creative, my friend! It’s working for you!

Leave a Reply

