My Word For 2017 – UNCOMPLICATED


Photo by Peggy Nolan

Photo by Peggy Nolan

Every year around the end of December, I select one word or a phrase that will serve as my guide post for the coming year. In the past I’ve chosen words like:

  • Determination
  • Focus
  • Clarity
  • Perseverance

These are good words and have served me well. In the past few months these words have become part of my new perspective:

  • Possibility
  • Creativity
  • Clarity
  • Connection
  • Meander

In fact, I was called to meander for most of the last 3 months.
As I meandered, my mind wandered
and I had ideas and thoughts about creating something brand new,
Pathways To Possibility,
and low and behold,
I was following the same mold
and as I watched it unfold,
I fell in the same old hole…again.
And the definition of insanity clearly came to mind.

And then my website croaked
and my external hard drive broke

and I said fuck it.

I want ease
I want grace
I want UNCOMPLICATED

I want to write
I want to paint
I want to crochet

I want UNCOMPLICATED

The only person whose been complicating things is me. Monkey mind loves to complicate things. I am so done making things harder for myself. I’m so done being distracted by the next best shiny thing.

In 2016 I took on one outside project. In 2017 I’m taking on NONE.

I’m imposing my terms upon life and as God as my witness, these terms will be UNCOMPLICATED 🙂

Have you chosen a word for 2017? If you have, please share in the comments what your word is and why you chose it.

21 thoughts on “My Word For 2017 – UNCOMPLICATED

  1. My word is “authentic” for much the same reasons as yours. I will probably take on some new writing projects but that’s because I love to write and express myself. I will not get dragged in to the whole marketing/must have a best seller/must have 1,000 fans. I just want to write, express, feel, walk outside, watch the birds, crochet (me, too), read, lean to knit socks. Simply put, to live a simple, authentic life.

    • Oh yes! I will be taking on writing projects as well – my own writing projects 🙂 I have another book of poems that I will publish in 2017! Here’s to being authentic and uncomplicated!!

  2. Appreciating how you’re affirming your New You, New Year in one word. I see this unfolding for you as it brings you greater “creativity, clarity and connection.”** This year a one line mantra that came after a meditation on January 1; then one word had a high vibration. I hope the same happens this year! Stay tuned.

    (**BTW: These are each a one-week module in my online course for the Divine Dialogue Writing System that I designed in the Fall of 2015! Synchronistic!)

  3. I love how you are moving and creating, Peggy! I haven;t focused on my words. Yet if I reverse engineer from where my focus has been, I would say there are two: truth and freedom. Not the easiest of paths always, but it seems to be where I am and what is needed.

  4. I love this blog Peggy and your word uncomplicated! My word for the coming year is embrace and I am already having many opportunities to do so! Sending you much love and joy for the New Year!

  5. Pingback: Releasing Myself From The Judgement of Others (and myself) | Pathways To Possibility

Leave a Reply

